Square Enix Launch Ad-Supported Gaming Platform

With the recent troubles at Onlive you’d think that now would be the worst time to launch a cloud-based gaming service. Well, Square Enix don’t think so. The critically acclaimed publisher today launched their take on cloud-based gaming, but with a twist. Core Online allows you to play games for free, as long as you watch some adverts before hand.

I tested the service out earlier and it was relatively simple to get going, I didn’t even have to sign in. Although if I had signed in I would have received some free playtime apparently.

The concept is simple, watch a one minute advert and get around twenty minutes play time. Currently the only games supported are Hitman: Blood Money and Mini Ninjas, but Square Enix plan to add more games to their catalogue in the future, starting with Lara Croft: Guardian of Light in October.

This service is definitely something to keep an eye on, but it does bring forth the same questions that surround Onlive and other cloud-based platforms.

Who is it aimed at?

The inclusion of Hitman in the launch line-up would lead us to believe that its aimed at a more mature seasoned gamer. This is where I get confused. If this is indeed the target audience, surely a large proportion of these gamers have a PC powerful enough to play the games anyway. Hitman can be played on a five year old PC easily, let alone even the most basic of modern PCs.

Okay, so is the service based around a more frugal audience, maybe students?

Seeing as a high speed internet connection is required, I think not.

Do we really want our gaming to be constantly interrupted by adverts?

I am going to use the same argument here that I use for Free-to-play games. I’d rather pay for a complete, well-made, flushed out game than settle for a substandard free version. If subtle product placement was to be used in games and thus made the game cheaper, I’d be all for that. I’ve got nothing against advertising in games as long as it doesn’t thrust it in my face. This has been tried before, but it was a failure because the advertisements began to detract from the game. Car companies that wouldn’t allow their cars to be damaged in a racing game and over-use of product placement in sporting games are a couple of examples that I can recall. Adverts are fine until you notice them.

As I have with Onlive and Gaikai, I’ll be keeping an eye on this. For now however, I don’t think this is the future of gaming.

Please let me know your thoughts in the comments.

This entry was posted by Alt.

Leave a comment